Public Health Agency of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Share this page

Privacy Statement

Please read this statement before registering for Skills Online modules.

The Skills Online program respects your privacy and is fully committed to protecting the information gathered as a result of your participation in the program. Wherever possible, we adhere to the Canadian Standard Association’s principles on privacy and your personal information is protected under the federal Privacy ActThis link will take you to another Web site (external site). This means you have the right to be informed of why your personal information is being collected and you can challenge the accuracy of the information we have about you in our files.

Purpose and use of information collected for Skills Online

The information you provide when you register for a Skills Online module is used for the following four purposes:

  • Program administration: to uniquely identify you as an individual who has registered and completed our modules.
  • Communication with fellow students and mentors: to allow screened, eligible participants to work in teams with a mentor or champion in order to gather information on the Skills Online modules, resources and local implementation.

    Note: email, online chat and discussion boards are not shared outside the program.
  • Evaluation: to periodically seek participant feedback on module content, processes and program impacts in order to continuously improve the program.
  • Public health emergency mobilization: to help provincial, territorial and local public health authorities identify skilled public health practitioners across Canada who might be mobilized in a public health emergency.

Limitations

Personal information will not be used or disclosed for purposes other than those for which it was collected, except with the consent of the individual or as allowed or required by law. Personal information will not be disclosed to persons or organization(s) outside the Skills Online program unless it pertains to items 2 through 4 above or unless it is in accordance with section 8(2) of the Privacy ActThis link will take you to another Web site (external site). Personal information will only be shared with provincial, territorial and federal government public health agencies and organizations in the event of a public health crisis and subsequent human resource mobilization to respond to such crises.

Security

We take appropriate measures to protect against unauthorized access and disclosure of your personal information. The information collected will only be accessed by Skills Online program employees and a third party administrator. The third party administrator handles participant registration and administers the modules on behalf of the Skills Online program. If you have any questions or concerns in regards to our administrator and this policy, please contact us.

No other parties external to the Public Health Agency of Canada and the third party administrator will have access to your information. All individuals having access to the information will be security cleared at the Enhanced Reliability Level. Skills Online and its third party administrator use security safeguards to protect your information, such as unique user identifications and passwords. These security safeguards include the use of security software and encryption protocols and involve physical, technical and procedural controls to protect your personal information.

For more information

Skills Online encourages all program participants to read and understand this privacy statement. To verify or correct your personal information in our files please contact us.

For questions about our practices or to address an administrative challenge about our compliance to the principles outlined in this statement, email or write to us at:

skills_privacy@phac-aspc.gc.ca

Privacy
Skills Enhancement for Public Health
120 Colonnade Road,
Room B271B A.L. 6702B Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0K9

If the program is not able to sufficiently address your challenge, you may make a formal request under the Access to Information Act (PDF Document)external siteor you may register a formal complaint through the Office of the Privacy Commissionerexternal site.

Agence de la santé publique du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Partagez cette page

Avis sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Nous vous invitons à lire le présent avis avant de vous inscrire aux modules de Compétences en ligne.

Le programme Compétences en ligne respecte la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels et protège l’information recueillie dans le cadre de sa participation. Dans la mesure du possible, nous appliquons les principes de confidentialité de l’Association canadienne de normalisation, et vos renseignements personnels sont protégés en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnelsLien externe. Cela signifie que vous êtes en droit de connaître à quelles fins vos renseignements personnels sont recueillis et que vous pouvez contester l’exactitude des renseignements que nous détenons à votre sujet.

But et utilisation des données recueillies dans le cadre du programme Compétences en ligne

L’information fournie lors de l’inscription à un module de Compétences en ligne est utilisée uniquement aux fins suivantes.

  • Administration du programme : Afin d’identifier de manière unique les participants qui se sont inscrits à des modules et qui les ont terminés.
  • Communication avec les autres participants et les mentors : Afin de permettre aux participants évalués et jugés admissibles de travailler en équipe avec un mentor ou un champion et d’obtenir de l’information sur les modules de Compétences en ligne, les ressources à leur disposition et la mise en œuvre locale.

    Remarque : Le contenu des courriers électroniques, des discussions en ligne et des babillards n’est pas divulgué à l’extérieur du programme.
  • Évaluation : Afin de solliciter périodiquement les commentaires des participants au sujet du contenu des modules, des processus et des répercussions du programme et de l’améliorer continuellement.
  • Mobilisation lors de situations d’urgence en santé publique : Afin d’aider les autorités en santé publique provinciales, territoriales et locales à mobiliser des professionnels de la santé publique partout au Canada lors d’une situation d’urgence en santé publique

Limites

Les renseignements personnels ne seront pas utilisés ou communiqués à des fins autres que celles auxquelles ils ont été recueillis, à moins que l'individu ait donné son consentement ou qu'il s'agisse d'une exigence de la loi. Les renseignements personnels ne seront pas communiqués à des personnes ou à des organismes de l’extérieur du programme Compétences en ligne sauf aux fins indiquées aux articles 2 et 4 ci-dessus ou conformément au paragraphe 8(2) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnelslien externe. Les renseignements personnels seront communiqués seulement aux agences et aux organismes de santé publique fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux, dans le cadre d’une situation de crise en santé publique et de la mobilisation subséquente des ressources humaines pour contrer ladite crise.

Sécurité

Nous prenons des mesures appropriées pour protéger vos renseignements personnels contre l'accès et la communication non autorisés. Les renseignements recueillis seront utilisés seulement par les employés du programme Compétences en ligne et l'administrateur tiers. L'administrateur tiers gère l'inscription des participants et administre les modules au nom du programme Compétences en ligne. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations au sujet de notre administrateur et de cette politique, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous.

Aucune autre partie de l'extérieur de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada et de l'administrateur tiers n'aura accès à vos renseignements. Toutes les personnes qui auront accès aux renseignements devront détenir la cote de fiabilité approfondie. Le programme Compétences en ligne et son administrateur tiers utilisent des mécanismes de sécurité pour protéger vos renseignements, comme un code d'identification et un mot de passe d'utilisateur uniques. Ces mécanismes de sécurité comprennent aussi l'utilisation de logiciels de sécurité et de protocoles de chiffrement et se traduisent par des contrôles physiques, techniques et procéduraux visant à protéger vos renseignements personnels.

Pour plus d’information

Tous les participants au programme Compétences en ligne sont invités à lire le présent avis sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à bien le comprendre. Si vous désirez vérifier ou corriger l'information que nous détenons à votre sujet, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de nos pratiques ou si vous souhaitez remettre en question, sur le plan administratif, la conformité aux principes susmentionnés, écrivez-nous par courrier électronique ou courrier postal.

skills_privacy@phac-aspc.gc.ca

Protection des renseignements personnels
Amélioration des compétences en santé publique
120, chemin Colonnade,
Salle B271B I.A. 6702B
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0K9

Si le programme ne suffit pas pour régler le problème, vous pouvez déposer une demande officielle en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur la protection des renseignements personnels (Document PDF)lien externe ou une plainte officielle par l'entremise du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privéelien externe.